Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shadow 2 vs. SP-01

Stafford

I've had very little experience with CZ's other than rentals. I had previously tired a 75B over a year ago and more recently, rented a Shadow 2 - twice and a P-01. As a result, I've purchased a Shadow 2 and now a regular safety model SP-01. I've had the S2 to the range twice and it has been very accurate, and smooth. Very nice. For the past couple of days I've dry fired both the S2 and SP-01 (snap caps) and could tell a difference in the trigger weights. Still the SP-01 didn't seem bad at all, just not as great as the S2.

Today, I tried them out together on a local steel range. Wow! BIG Difference. The S2 is a dream to shoot compared to the SP-01. Trigger, sights, everything. I really didn't think the difference would be so extreme, but it is. I'll keep shooting and dry firing the SP-01 and see how it breaks in. But it looks like sights and trigger work may be in it's future. I really think I may just keep the S2 stock.

Yeah, I knew there would be a difference, but I didn’t realize that big of a difference. The last time I rented a Shadow 2, I also rented a P-01. And I shot the P-01 very well - on paper targets. So, I guessed that the heavier, longer SP-01 would be that good as well. I’ll try it out on paper at my regular range a time or two before trying steel again.

You can put the CGW "ultra-lite" kit into a SP-01 and close most of the gap to the Shadow 2 in terms of trigger feel. The lack of a FPB in the S2 does make the reset shorter, but most people won't notice the difference in live fire. Do a full polish and install the CGW pro package and the only noticeable thing you'll give up on a fully tuned S2 is the weight.