Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hornady factory or Mr Bulletfeeder?

Depends on caliber. I loved the Hornady feed/seat die in 223. But if you run a bunch of calibers, MBF - no question. The Hornady feed dies in pistol are a PITA. People will tell you they work great with all sorts of polishing and work. Why bother????? 

I have used both for pistol (9mm and .45) and the MR Bullet feeder die is just plain better, it just works.

The Hornady one is too complicated, it works pretty well with FMJ bullets but with plated/coated or lead? Save yourself the aggravation and get the MR.

I had to keep adjusting, cleaning and messing with the Hornady one until it was working again, the MR is just set it and forget it.

The brand of press has no relevance to the brand of bullet feeder, it's all the same principle. A shell plate goes up, case receives a bullet, shell plate goes down :P

I have no experience with any rifle bullet feeders btw.

Edited by xrayfk05

The Hornady die does not work reliably with most plated bullets. It would work like 90% with SNS coated bullets with some tweaking. It has worked fine with FMJ for me. I did try a Mr Bulletfeeder die with the Hornady bullet collator but was not able to make that combo work.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I got the Hornady die to work with posted bullets, but as mentioned took a little tweaking and polishing. Used their gravity Fed bullet tubes as I couldn't spring for a feeder at the time. MBF is being used now and after setup seems to require a lot less tinkering, but also much higher price.

I tried for a week to make the Hornady die work and got it from "didn't work at all" to "hey, it works, oops, maybe not".

Gave up and bought the MBF die. Set it up per instructions. Worked from the start. I now have three of them and have never had an issue.

I tried for a week to make the Hornady die work and got it from "didn't work at all" to "hey, it works, oops, maybe not".