Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Good option for .223/5.56 BTHP or ballistic tip 55gr bullets for reloading?

avastcosmicarena

I'm just getting into reloading. With 9mm, I like JHP, and I have options like Montana Gold, Precision Delta, RMR, Hornady HAP/XTP, etc.

I stocked up on some Precision Delta 115s. 

I'm now looking around trying to decide on a good bullet for 55 grain .223 or 5.56 for a .223 Wylde barrel.

What are the good options out there? 

Nosler ballistic tip? Hornady Vmax? Sierra GameKing/MatchKing? Anything else?

I pretty much just want to find a good, accurate 55 grain bullet that I can buy in bulk for reloading.

Edited by avastcosmicarena

The most popular and most affordable bulk 55gr bullets are the Hornady FMJBT. You can buy them in a 6k round case for about $0.06/piece when brownells and midway offer their free shipping codes. They might offer the Vmax by the case well, but I haven’t looked into it since they’re more expensive and I use it burley for plinking. I think most people get good groups with the bullets after a little load development. Hope that helps

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

18 minutes ago, looking4reloadingdeals said:

The most popular and most affordable bulk 55gr bullets are the Hornady FMJBT. You can buy them in a 6k round case for about $0.06/piece when brownells and midway offer their free shipping codes. They might offer the Vmax by the case well, but I haven’t looked into it since they’re more expensive and I use it burley for plinking. I think most people get good groups with the bullets after a little load development. Hope that helps

Will those lead up the compensator like FMJ does on 9mms with comps (open guns, PCCs, etc.)

Looking for something that won't lead up the comp ideally.