Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

John Gets To Work

jmac2112

My previous attempts at keeping a range diary have not worked out very well.  I've written some things in a Word document, and other things in a physical notebook, and still other things on scraps of paper that end up going through the wash.  Anyway, the idea of an online diary appeals to me because a) all my notes will be stored in one place, b) I will express myself more clearly if I know that others might read what I write, and c) I might get some useful feedback.

I have been shooting Production in USPSA for about two years now.  Started off with an M&P 2.0, but my current gun is a CZ Shadow 2.  I made B Class this past summer, and my current proximate goal is to make A Class over the winter (say by March of 2020).  There are a couple of places around here (Northern Virginia) that hold indoor matches, including some all-classifier matches, so I should have ample opportunity to meet that goal during the next four months.  It's not so much that I want my card to say "A Class," although that would be nice.  I want to start off the next season as a genuine A Class shooter, with the level of stand-and-shoot skill that that implies, and try to make M by the time the snow flies.  

That's enough of an introduction for now.  Off to get in some dry fire before the kids wake up and chaos ensues....

Chaos has ensued, but at least I can type while it swirls around me.  I've been dry firing in earnest since mid-January of this year, so it's been about ten months now.  As the name of my range diary implies, I am a fan of Steve Anderson's books and podcast, although I am also a big fan of Ben Stoeger's materials.  I think the two of them complement each other nicely.  Anderson is about 80% mental game and 20% technique, while Stoeger is the opposite.