Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
Sign in to follow this  
Luckynumberslevin

First Revo match issues

Hey guys,

I recently had my first IPSC revolver match and loved it, I have been shooting standard here in Canada for a couple years now and wanted to make the switch as there arnt many wheel gunners around.  Aside from forgetting how to shoot when the old timer beeps, I thought I did quite well.  But my faults of D zone hits and Mike's were all low and left. (Right handed shooter).  So my question is regarding grip technique.  I have found that if engage the palm of my weak hand close to the back of the grip that the shots down stray as low.  Am I on the right path or is this a simple trigger jerk issue?

Thanks!

1 hour ago, Luckynumberslevin said:

Hey guys,

I recently had my first IPSC revolver match and loved it, I have been shooting standard here in Canada for a couple years now and wanted to make the switch as there arnt many wheel gunners around.  Aside from forgetting how to shoot when the old timer beeps, I thought I did quite well.  But my faults of D zone hits and Mike's were all low and left. (Right handed shooter).  So my question is regarding grip technique.  I have found that if engage the palm of my weak hand close to the back of the grip that the shots down stray as low.  Am I on the right path or is this a simple trigger jerk issue?

Thanks!

IMHO its both, the long relatively heavy DA trigger pull exasperates any trigger control deficiency on your part, having a better grip helps fight that. Now for the fun part there doesn't seem to be a one size fits all solution for how to operate a revolver, so try different grip techniques and trigger finger placements and see what works for you.  you may also want to try some different grip shapes on the gun and see how that works with your grip techniques.