Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2011 magazine springs

Rpope423

I’m kinda new to the 2011 world so I’m on a learning curve with magazines, right now I have 3 STI gen 1 140mm mags with SNL pads, grams followers and springs.

heres my question:

the springs are 11 coil, everything I’m reading on shooters connection and grams website if your using a 140mm with extended basepads to use 13 coil? 

is possible there is a reason he was using 11 coil? 

also the followers are labeled s2,s2,STSV 

is there a difference?

14 minutes ago, Rpope423 said:

I’m kinda new to the 2011 world so I’m on a learning curve with magazines, right now I have 3 STI gen 1 140mm mags with SNL pads, grams followers and springs.

heres my question:

the springs are 11 coil, everything I’m reading on shooters connection and grams website if your using a 140mm with extended basepads to use 13 coil? 

is there a difference?

Your best bet is to give Beven a call tomorrow. (949) 548-3745 

Some people use a 13 coil spring in a 140 mag to solve some sort of feeding problem, usually trying to fix a bad mag tube in a cheap way. it usually does not work as a fix, but some think it does. An 11 coil spring is all that is necessary in a good 140 mag tube, with a base pad that extends the over all length of the mag to no longer then 145mm. A 13 coil spring will decrease round count, and put more friction/pressure to the under side of the slide, at least for feeding the first 2 rounds out of the mag.

The follower ID part #'s you listed are designed for your application, just different productions to cover the changes in mag tube design over the last 20 years.

Alright so I’m good to go then,  I had practiced some yesterday and at the end of practice I had a mag that kept puttin the gun to slide lock with 1 bullet left in magazine, ended up just shaving off the slide lock shelf on the followers since I don’t go to slide lock normally as a fix. 

On 11/11/2019 at 10:17 PM, Rpope423 said: