Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Red Dot Zero from person to person

Malarky112

I’m just getting into the optics game. 
I purchased a Setup from friend and a much more experienced  and skilled shooter then me who had already sighted in the dot on the gun. 

When I shoot the gun it seems off a bit low left. 

Im switching from Glock to CZ so I know it could be me but it made me think. 

Is red dot zero the same for everyone? Once a gun is zeroed in it should be good no matter who is looking thru the glass, correct? 

35 minutes ago, Malarky112 said:

Is red dot zero the same for everyone? Once a gun is zeroed in it should be good no matter who is looking thru the glass, correct? 

Completely incorrect. Each person's eyes and their perspective to the sight to target is different. You can also do your own test by wearing a pair of glasses versus contacts and you will notice a point of impact shift. This is amplified with magnified optics. I shot my wife's Limcat while mine was in the shop and there was a huge difference and I had to account for that. I did not dare change her sight because then she would have been screwed up when she uses it. 

You really have to match the gun to you and you alone. 

27 minutes ago, Furrly said:

Trigger squeeze is the difference or anticipating recoil 

This is why I  hesitant to adjust the dot because with my glocks I had a tendency to shoot left.  I had mostly corrected it but wondering if I’m doing same thing with new gun. 

Learning a new gun and a new sight system at same time is rough. 

1 hour ago, Nevadazielmeister said: