Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Will Running an 18.5” Barrel On My M2 Hurt Me?

greenthormx

First, I’m very new to the world of 3 Gun.  So new, that the first thing I did when I realized it intrigued me was go out and buy a Benelli M2... tactical.  After reading some more, I realized that a vent rib model would be preferable for the sport. Will using an 18.5” pistol sight barrel hurt me as a newcomer to the sport from an accuracy/distance perspective? Could I minimize sighting advantages of the vent rib by mounting an RMR on top of it? Most of what I’ve read says that 21” vent rib is the ticket, which doesn’t seem like a ton of difference.  I already bought a standard stock to replace the pistol grip which should open up my quad loading.  Thank you for your help!

Not in the least providing your 18" barrel has chokes. Some of the targets you will face need some form of construction is spinner at 15 yards, star at 20, heavy plates...etc. you could just use larger shot but some matches limit the size of shot.

As long as it accepts chokes it should still be pretty useable you will just have to run a tighter choke since your velocity will be lower. Also if you put an RMR on it you will be bumping yourself to open with guys running magazine fed shotguns and those with tube fed guns have 12-14rd mag tubes that will be full at the start.

11 hours ago, kurtm said:

Not in the least providing your 18" barrel has chokes. Some of the targets you will face need some form of construction is spinner at 15 yards, star at 20, heavy plates...etc. you could just use larger shot but some matches limit the size of shot.

It is a model with a choked barrel.  That is good to know and a huge relief! I also changed the spring pack in in to TTI, had Hawkeye Ordnance mill the loading port, changed to an accuguide lifter, added a tube extension, and added an oversized TTI bolt release and safety. Guess now I just need to sign up for an event.  I appreciate the response!