Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What makes a stage "technical"?

I hear the term "Technical Stage" thrown around quite a bit on podcasts and in books/posts. Its usually in reference to the quality of a stage. Is a stage with a lot of partials or more precision shots? Does it have more to do with movement? All of the above?

This is my first year shooting USPSA and I have only shot local level 1 club matches. Just trying to gauge how these compare to matches elsewhere.

Sent from my SM-G930U using Tapatalk

21 minutes ago, anonymouscuban said:

I hear the term "Technical Stage" thrown around quite a bit on podcasts and in books/posts. Its usually in reference to the quality of a stage. Is a stage with a lot of partials or more precision shots? Does it have more to do with movement? All of the above?

This is my first year shooting USPSA and I have only shot local level 1 club matches. Just trying to gauge how these compare to matches elsewhere.

Anything that’s not a hoser stage.😊

Anything that’s not a hoser stage.[emoji4]
Haha. That's kind of what I was thinking but wanted to ask. The club matches I shoot tend to have a lot of partials. Some stages are all partials. Don't mind these as much as the all steel stages. Ugh. I get heartburn soon as I see a bunch of steel. Trying to practice this more but also not let it get in my head.

My club just started adding swingers so that's been interesting. Not sure how I feel about them yet.

Anything where you need more precision. Be it foot work, shots, stage plan ect. Stages go hoser --> technical --> memory. Memory have a bunch of hidden targets or ones that can be engaged from multiple locations. Scoring these you will see targets with 4 holes and others with none.