Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clothes for shooting in the rain

highhope

Shot IDPA national last Friday in the rain, terrible exprience, cold and wet, btw can't see the dot sometimes. 

I am shopping some waterproof clothes for shooting in the rain to keep warm and dry, maybe some light weight/low level waterproof softshells?  I am not a outdoor expert, need some suggestions, thanks a lot. 

Edited by highhope

At a match, you are going to be standing around a lot, and then moving quite briskly. For the standing, have a coat. And a raincoat if it is raining. Get rid of the coat for the short period that you are actually shooting.

Have a hat or cap to keep the water away from your glasses. Maybe an umbrella too, when not running with your gun.

Keep your feet dry and warm.

Keep your hands and fingers warm!

Good rain gear isn't cheap. I have a cheap set of rain gear that I usually keep in my truck. It's light weight and won't break the bank if I ruin it while shooting.

But I usually skip that week if it looks like rain. The rain isn't so much am issue as the mud that comes with it.

Look at a Patagonia Catalog.  I use one of their resistant shells designed for cross country skiing, cycling, etc.  They are breathable, light weight and will keep you dry in anything but a torrential downpour that last for hours.  Mine fold up small enough to put in a jacket pocket.   I also have a heavier Columbia OmniDry waterproof, breathable jacket with hood that I use when I can take it off to shoot.  If it is raining hard I keep the Patagonia on.  It doesn't interfere with movements.

2 hours ago, perttime said:

At a match, you are going to be standing around a lot, and then moving quite briskly. For the standing, have a coat. And a raincoat if it is raining. Get rid of the coat for the short period that you are actually shooting.

Have a hat or cap to keep the water away from your glasses. Maybe an umbrella too, when not running with your gun.