Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SportPistol / N320 Plated Bullets Recipes

alien_pickles

I typically buy SNS coated bullets and load with either N320 or sport pistol. 40S&W 180gr .401 with 4.7-4.8 gr powder and an OAL of 1.175. I haven't had any problems making major power factor with them out of my 5 inch 1911 and 2011. 

However, I recently picked up some plated bullets for a really good price. I have zero experience loading with these, but I was told they need more powder to achieve the same thing. I have a large quantity of Xtreme plated hollow points (180gr .400) and also some Rainer plated RNFP (also 180gr .400). I assume both could use the same load.

I need to keep the OAL long for feeding reliability. My 2011 especially is a bit... particular.

Anyone running anything similar they've had good luck with?

Rubbish.  The plated bullets will shoot just fine.  You'll find the Rainiers a little faster than the X-Treme, and more accurate.  If you were at 170~172PF with your coated bullet, you'll be around the same or slightly lower with the plated.  You'll still be comfortably in major territory.  I used both brands for years.  They don't tumble and they are accurate.  The Rainiers were as accurate as JHPs in my guns.

Apparently, there''s plated bullets out there that don't work well (in some guns???). My experience with plated bullets is very good. They seem to behave more like lead bullets, than jacketed. Chrono some with 4.7gr, and see what happens.

I've given up on buying chronos temporarily after I shot two in a row. 😐 I've been just over that 165 mark at the last two majors that measured (though one was area 3, so I don't think that really counts). 

I had heard the plated were supposed to be better than the coated, so I'm kind of surprised more people don't like them. I've had zero issues with my SNS though, so I'm not really looking for something to be better, just the same.