Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Where's the "Practical" in USPSA Stages

I am fairly new to USPSA and firearms in general. I learned about USPSA when I saw an old match on YouTube. Guys sprinting for 30+ meters, shooting prone, crawling through a tunnel. Man did this look cool. It's what drew me to it.

I've now been shooting matches for 10 months. Albeit, only local club matches. I have experienced none of this. The longest distance I've had to move is maybe 12 yards. Most stages have maybe 3 positions. I've watched videos of recent Area and Nationals and it's much of the same.

Are there any matches that incorporate the stuff of yesteryear anymore? Is there a reason why we don't see stages that require more physicality? Would you guys want to see more of this?

Just a noob here asking you more experienced guys. Seems to me like these physical elements would make stages more interesting.

Sent from my SM-G930U using Tapatalk

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For more physical stuff, you should get a rifle, too, and try something like Desert Brutality, or something similar.

InRangeTV has some videos (often a lot of talking and then the shooting).

This one isn't all that long:

I've been shooting for about 4 years and I've never once shot a stage with a cooper tunnel, and only a few times can I remember moving 30+ yards. I'm 41 and I think of myself as among the younger set, although that is changing. I like physical stages but I totally get the complaint that it becomes less of a shooting skill test. If an athletic B class shooter can win the stage, then i think it was poorly designed.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

1 hour ago, anonymouscuban said:

Are there any matches that incorporate the stuff of yesteryear anymore? Is there a reason why we don't see stages that require more physicality? Would you guys want to see more of this?