Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dont see targets

midatlantic

Hi,

Any techniques anyone can offer to stop failing to shoot targets in the more complex stages? Shot two matches this weekend and in both failed to engage targets. Full disclosure, I aint that good, but the matches are fun.

Even after noting each target, coming up with a stage plan, when the buzzer rings I'll sometimes finish the stage thinking I hit all the targets...not. 

I realize this is a total head thing, but advice welcome on how to make sure I SEE each target during the stage. FYI I'm still new at this, am not so young anymore, and probably still thinking too much to avoid a DQ...

'

1 hour ago, hitman_usmc said:

Continue to work on stage planning/programming. You should be able to mentally run the the stage without looking at it before it’s your turn. 

^^^This.  Walking the stage is not the same thing as visualizing exactly where the place I going to aim on EACH target is.  I used to walk the stages a bunch and think I will shoot this array and then that array, etc.  I would often make mistakes.  When I started to visualizing (I actually close my eyes) and picture every target.  If I can’t instantaneously identity each target with my sights on the target where I want them to be, I am not ready to shoot.  I try to do this every time there is a new shooter until it’s my turn.

Edited by B585

3 hours ago, midatlantic said:

Hi,

Any techniques anyone can offer to stop failing to shoot targets in the more complex stages? Shot two matches this weekend and in both failed to engage targets. Full disclosure, I aint that good, but the matches are fun.

Even after noting each target, coming up with a stage plan, when the buzzer rings I'll sometimes finish the stage thinking I hit all the targets...not.