Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best ways to lube cases

Madmax1980

Hi, guys. I’m new to reloading and have a question. What are some of the ways that you lube your case’s. Right now I put a couple handfuls into a plastic container and just spray case lube in, put a lid on and roll them around. I feel like that when I spray it in a lot goes inside the cases. And I can’t do very many at a time either. 

Thanks in advance for your ideas. 

I usually spray Dillon case lube inside a gallon size ziploc bag a couple of times, dump the cases inside and shake it a few times to lube the outside of the cases. Take them out of the ziploc bag, leave them out a few minutes to let the alcohol evaporate and then dump them into my case feeder and start reloading.

19 minutes ago, RudyVey said:

Hornady one-shot, a couple sprays into a ziplock baggie, then add brass, shake and "massage" the brass in the bag, perfect! Just enough lubrication, and no lube inside the cases

This but I find lanolin and alcohol to be even better.. 

I make my case lube liquid lanolin and alcohol. Best way to make it use 1 oz of lanolin and 1 12oz bottle of HEET ( red bottle). Mix it in a spray bottle and I put the cases in a cheap $ store plastic container and spray them then I put the lib on and roll and shake them. Take the lid off for a couple minutes so the alcohol can evaporate and you are ready.

I lube mine while they are tumbling.

I squirt  a mix of Nu Finish paste car wax and mineral spirits (25%/75%) into the tumbling media, running for 15 - 20 mins and then add the brass.  Once cleaned, they are ready for loading and size easier.

On 10/13/2019 at 5:22 PM, MemphisMechanic said:

Spray the lube onto the bottom of your plastic container in a thin eve coating.

Dump cases in.

Install lid.

Shake.

Dump into casefeeder.

Keeps it on the OUTSIDE of your cases!

Best way, I use a empty 1lbs jug of powder bottle. Cut the top off, Spray in, Dump cases, Shake, then right into the case feeder