Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Does case fill affect SD??

Sandbagger123

been experimenting with Sport pistol powder in 40.  i loaded 4.9 grains with a 180 gallant at 1.18 for my 2011.  the velocity and SD were high.   i also loaded some at 1.13.5 to us in other gun and out of the same gun he SD was 10 or less.   at 1.13.5 it picked up about 75 FPS. the only difference is length.  did not touch the powder drop or anything other than turning the stem on my seating die.  

the only thing i can think of is that the added volume of loading longer is affecting the SD numbers.  more space between the bullet and the powder.   so have you noticed this ?    i also did an experiment with RS comp which is a very filling powder and the FPS and SD were good.    

Yup, COAL is absolutely something that you can vary for accuracy. I'm not an engineer to explain it in highly technical terms, but here's how I understand it.

As you reduce COAL you reduce case volume. In a reduced case volume the same charge will spike to a higher initial pressure at ignition. That is likely what gave you the higher velocity and better accuracy. Although you have to take care because higher pressure spike is also where you get primer deformation and case failure. If you had asked here first, "Should I take an established load and just shorten it by .045"?" you would get a chorus of, "heck no...do that stuff gradually and monitor for pressure signs!"

That being said, it sounds like your 2011 just wanted a bit hotter load for a bit better accuracy.

The other mechanic with COAL that your experiment went against conventional wisdom is to load the cartridge as long as you can to reduce the leap to the lands of the barrel. In a perfect world if I were you I'd lengthen the cartridge back out and increase the powder charge. That way you reduce the gap to the lands and you give the gun the slightly hotter load it seems to want.