Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Powder bar accuracy upgrade tricks?

Ran across a video by Knowledge2you on YouTube and as part of his video he had some tricks he used to allegedly improve the accuracy of the Dillon  powderbar throw. One was grounding his press and powder dropper, dryer sheets wrapped around the powder hopper, bench mounts, etc.

I've pulled cases during a loading cycle and weighed my powder charge and seen .3 to .5 + drift. Wondering what tricks different loaders are using help improve the consistency and accuracy of each powder throw.

Care to share?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

17 hours ago, DIYguy said:

I've pulled cases during a loading cycle and weighed my powder charge and seen .3 to .5 + drift. Wondering what tricks different loaders are using help improve the consistency and accuracy of each powder throw.

.3 to .5!?  What powders are you using?  Granted, I'm a noob using my Dillon 550 - I've only had it for a couple of months and have only reloaded 700 rounds or so, and I've only used two powders (Longshot and Bullseye) but in spot-checking here and there, I've never had more than a .1 gr variance, which was pretty normal in the other reloading I did with my Lee Challenger kit setup.  I never load at either top or bottom end of the load data, so a variance of a tenth of a grain or so isn't going to be an issue from a safety perspective.

For 9mm that seems like a lot of variability. I'm on a 650 also and loading Action Pistol, Prima V, True Blue.

For Action Pistol my target is 3.5 and 90% of the throws I check are between 3.45 and 3.55 and occasionally a slight bit more/less.

True Blue is even better. It flows like sand in an hour glass.

Your powder can have an impact. Ball powders like True Blue will tend to flow more consistently than stick or flake.

I'm not using any "tricks". Just the standard 650 powder setup.