Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

question about coaching (rule 8.6.1 and following)

jmac2112

Essentially this rule says that you can't provide any assistance to a shooter "during a course of fire."  Here's a situation that I experienced at a recent match:  

Another competitor at a local match was having trouble with his gun.  He removed all the mags from his belt, went to the safe table to sort things out, then came back.  At the command "Load and make ready," he pulls a mag out of his pocket (probably had it on him the whole time) and loads the gun.  At that point I noticed that he had forgotten to put his mags back in their pouches.  I didn't know whether I was allowed to say anything, so I just bit my tongue and watched the train wreck unfold.  He was shooting Production, so he didn't get very far....

So my question is, what constitutes the beginning of a "course of fire"?   Could I have said something at that point?  I'm a relative newbie, so please be patient with me if the answer is somehow obvious.

Thanks,

John

Make ready is the beginning of the course of fire.

8.3.1 “Make Ready” – This command signifies the start of “the Course of Fire”. Under the direct supervision of the Range Officer the competitor must face downrange, or in a safe direction as specified by the Range Officer, fit eye and hearing protection, and prepare the firearm in accordance with the written stage briefing.

You said it was a local match.  As such I would have told him he forgot to grab his mags and not thought a thing about coaching.....because it's a local.  I've RO'ed shooters that have done similar and as they came to shoot I reminded them to get their mags first.  No big deal.  Some rule Nazis might play it different but I don't get with that.