Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Canik TP9SFX issue in competition

Dmatzinger

I am new to competition shooting, and have been away from any shooting for the last 20+ years.

my buddy got me into shooting again a few months ago, and my son and I shot out first competition over the weekend.

i write the long entry, to let you know I don’t know anything, and all legit feedback is greatly appreciated, and to save you the time from critiquing my “ignorance”.

Durring the competition

we had 4 times the gun did not shoot, round was in the chamber, trigger was pulled, but only “click” no boom.

”tap, rack, and click”, the next round fired as expected.

we were unable to collect the 4 round to inspect the primer, but positively on 3 of the 4, a round ejected when the slide was pulled back.

an experienced guy at the competition mentioned it could be an issue with the striker, but to message here to see if it’s “known” in the canik community.

the gun is stock, about 2000 rounds through it, roughly 600 rounds since the last time it was cleaned when the failur occurred.

the mags in question were the stock +2 and it was 2 different mags, ( each failed twice), durring the 400 ish rounds we shot that day.

the Ammon was factory loaded Winchester 115g

we share the gun, so it happened to me 1 time and my son 3 times,

also, 

any suggestions on “spare parts” I should have on hand,

prevenative maintenance I should do, and the interval,

any other canik advice would be greatly appreciated 

thank you in advance,

Daniel