Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

laser differences

I have been looking for a brighter laser than the CT206 I have on my pcc now. I know there is a regulation about power not being over 5mw, whatever that means.

What is puzzling to me is that I have found web sites where they are selling laser "pointers" that are up to 50,000mw. WTH! What is the difference and if you can have one that powerful why can't you have a more powerful one on a gun. These pointers have no way (that I could find anyway) to attach them to the gun nor do they have a way to adjust for sighting. If some genius person could figure that out could you mount one on a gun?

The 5mw is what is deemed as eye  safe( no protective laser safety glasses) any thing over that is dangerous in direct view and IN SPLASH BACK OFF OF THINGS...their is a thred on the PCC area that some videos were posted of the lasers burning/melting stuff..I was a laser safety officer when I was in the milatary,wont stay in a bay if someone is using one over the 5MW limit..I don't care whet th sticker says i can tell...bottom line if it is brighter than the 206 it is a risk..

Edited by 2011BLDR
9 hours ago, egd5 said:

Well, IMO, we need something a little brighter. I have a feeling, as with so many things the govt. "deems" is "safe", there is probably more room there than they say.

Well, if you trust your feeling better than the government and a laser security officer, then go right ahead. Do what you want as long as there is just yourself around, but don't jeopardize the safety of other people. 

Edited by mrd
3 hours ago, egd5 said:

Maybe you're right. The Government always knows best doesn't it.