Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Jam That Won't Die -- Please Help!!

ehowell12

Hi all, 

I've been battling an issue for a few months now on a new open gun, and I'm very close to being totally out of ideas. I need the help of those more experienced than I!! 🙏

I've fought this nose-diving into/under the feed ramp issue (see attached photos) intermittently (1/2 times per match) for about 8k rounds, and now, for a reason I have yet to find, I can't get through a mag without a malfunction. The malfunction seems to happen when a round moves slightly off of the back of the mag when the slide is cycling. The photos are actual, live-fire, malfunctions - not re-created at the kitchen table. I've also been working closely with the builder throughout the process, and we're both running out of ideas on what is the true cause of this.  

Has anyone else experienced this issue? If so, what was the fix? 

Gun

5" KKM Barrel, 9mm Major

CFD 3 port Comp w/ 2x 3/16" holes

Cheely E2 Grip, CK Frame, Brazos slide

Shielded Safeties - no thumb-to-slide contact possible.

Mags

All MBX, 3x170mm and 3x155mm

155s have factory MBX followers

170s have TTI Ultrathin followers - these seem to work better than the factory MBX, but not 100% in my case.

Issue seems to compound when a round moves off of the back of the mag when the slide is cycling. 

Ammo

115gr PD JHP, 115gr Everglades RN JHP, 115gr Hornady XTP

All with 8.6gr-8.7gr HS6 (170-172 pf)

Lengths from 1.15" to 1.17" (Intentionally adjusted - that's not my acceptable tolerance for OAL) 

Primers: Remington SP, S&B SP, and CCI 550 Magnum SP tried - no change.

All passes the plunk test no problem, and case gagues in my Hundo easily. (Mighty Armory size die)

Things that have been changed with little to no improvement:

Mag Springs - Factory MBX and Grams - I've tried old, kinda new, and brand new - to no avail. (all 13 coil).