Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
urmaker45

Sti edge locking back on one round

Posted (edited)

I have a sti edge 40 cal that on only one mag it’s locking back with one round left in mag . It doesn’t do this with my other mags could this be a worn out spring / follower ? 

Edited by urmaker45

Posted (edited)

I was going to order grams/spring follower see if that’s the issue . Will I need to tune them any ? Never tuned mags before so I’m new to this .

Edited by urmaker45

Posted (edited)

The Grams follower already comes tuned so it won't lock the slide open...the two that I ordered did not lock open.

Edited by ramnj

Mine does the same thing. You can either dremel your followers where they contact the slide stop or file down the slide stop. Both should work and keep this from happening. 

Sounds like a follower issue to me...  I’d say file down the contact point on the follower and go from there!

Due to a special match I need to run some mags that lock back on empty it’s going by  somewhat IDPA rules with reloads . I know my gun is not IDPA legal or I would just run my mbx not worry about it . How would I fix it to lock back on empty ? So the grams won’t lock back ?

Posted (edited)

In this match is your mag capacity limited or are you loading them up?

if you don’t need max capacity I still have some mags with the stock STI followers that won’t lock until empty. If you work on them a little I can still get 19 rounds. 

Edited by PharmDShooter

31 minutes ago, PharmDShooter said:

In this match is your mag capacity limited or are you loading them up?

if you don’t need max capacity I still have some mags with the stock STI followers that won’t lock until empty. If you work on them a little I can still get 19 rounds. 

Yea I’m going to be limited 10 so I won’t need max capacity I’m thinking about ordering stock spring follower from Dawson hope that works .

18 minutes ago, Robertwil18 said:

I think your pistol is broken and you should let me have it.  haha