Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Coming Back

Az_Twister

Hey guys. This is my first post here. Let me start by saying that as a kid Brian Enos and Rob Leatham were my heroes. I started shooting local "action pistol" (my clubs bastardized version of ipsc, at the time) when I was 13. I got to where I was pretty good. By 16 I was consistently beating every person, no matter age, that came to the matches here at my local club. Even spent a few nights running Tuesday night steel at Rio, where I of course learned I wasn't in fact the best in the world lol. Now for the reason I'm here. When I was 17 I had a bad accident during practice. I was using a custom built Caspian that was getting pretty worn out. At times the thumb safety would fall if you hit the butt hard enough while holstered. I never worried because I had excellent trigger discipline and knew my finger would get no where near the trigger until it was time to pull it. The holster I was using (as it turns out) was not made specifically for the 1911, I can't remember now what it was made for exactly. But the detent would get into the trigger guard just enough, if you hit the gun at just the right angle, to put pressure on the trigger (2.5lbs pull). You can imagine where this is going. The stars and moon aligned in just the wrong position one day while practicing and, yep, you guessed it. The gun went off in the holster. Now I know what you're thinking "yeah right, punk kid pulled the trigger before he cleared leather", which is exactly what I thought at the time until we were able to repeat the accident during testing. Dry fire of course. But the damage was already done. The bullet entered my leg mid thigh, traveling just under the skin, nicking a couple bones along the way, and stopped mid calve. After recovering I started shooting again, had to get back on the horse right? But it was never the same. I just couldn't get my head back in the game and by 19 I quit the sport all together. I still shot quite often