Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm to 10mm conversion

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm having a hard time getting a clear idea from Google because of the small vs large frame thing. Assuming a large frame, what's needed to convert from 9mm to 10mm? Do you need a full slide or is it just barrel and magazines? Maybe recoil spring too? I know EAA sells 10mm conversion kits, but it seems like if you buy those new you're looking at nearly as much as a whole new gun. Is the extractor going to pose a problem? I've never worked on a Tanfo before and I don't have my CZ anymore to look, I can't remember if the extractor is in the sear cage, I assume the difference in rim size could pose an issue there. Is it easier to convert a 10mm into a 9mm? I know there are some models of gun that just need mags and a drop-in barrel for .40 to 9mm but vice versa is more difficult.

I'm looking at getting a large frame Stock of some type or Limpro for a practice and eventual competition gun, currently looking between those and a Shadow 2 since Grand Power's optic ready model isn't in the US and it's going to be a like kind and quality insurance claim so getting a cheaper model is just leaving money on the table. I've wanted a 10mm Witness since I was a teenager, so if it's possible to do a conversion relatively cheaply that would be a point in favor of the Tanfo. The bigger grips of the Tanfo seem like they could be nice because it still feels like it fits my hand well (my current 9mm's safety recoils into my thumb knuckle if I do a high grip which means my accuracy goes downhill after about 100 rounds), but there's no reason I can't buy/3d print bigger grips for the Shadow.