Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reloading for 1911

HerdThinner

7 minutes ago, Rnlinebacker said:

use 38 super mags and load as long as your chamber allows

I have 1911s that have never seen a factory round and dont have feeding problems (insert s#!tty 1911 jam joke here). Use the 38 super or 10mm mags (whatever gun you have) and load em long

I have been loading plated for a 5" sig 1911 and it has always shot accurately.  But I always watch the crimp.  We shoot some longer steel on days when not a lot of guys show up.  Just watch for under sized bullets order 4000 off gun  broker a few years ago and they measured .354.  They didn't shoot well in anything.

I built a 1991 9mm Open gun for steel challenge.  It is a twin to my 2011 Open gun for USPSA.  Both shoot the same load equally well.  After a lot of trying, tweaking and conditioning I settled on Brownells 9mm 1911 mags.  The look like they were made by Metalform.  I initially had lots of issues with them, mostly because 9mm mag springs are quite stiff.  Leaving them fully loaded whenever I wasn't shooting them eventually conditioned the springs.  Now I can shoot full mags of 1.161; OAL rounds all day long.  BTW, I only shoot JHPs in either gun.

I've only loaded .45 for 1911 and there the magazines seem to be the finicky thing, as long as the rounds are somewhat decent.

I have CMC and Tripp magazines, and occasionally there's one that needs a little massaging to keep it ejecting freely and feeding properly.

6 hours ago, perttime said:

I've only loaded .45 for 1911 and there the magazines seem to be the finicky thing, as long as the rounds are somewhat decent.

Same here for 5". If there's a problem feeding, it is usually the mag. No problem at all getting good accuracy. In fact, my 1911s are the most accurate pistols I have.