Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Struggling with recalling sight picture

Southpaw320

This is my first year shooting USPSA.  I have shot for many years but never like this.  My issue is that when I shoot a stage and shoot it well for my ability, I don’t remember or recall anything about the sights/dot when I’m finished.  Whenever I try to shoot to the point where I watch the sight lift and return, I feel sluggish and end up second guessing shots and that affects the next string.

Anyone else experience this and is this something that I need to attempt to correct at this stage of my journey?  I’m currently an unclassified CO shooter (should have classification after this weekend) but shoot C class classifiers and finish middle of the pack at local matches.  I feel learning the game at this point is more of my problem than gun handling/shooting.

I am finishing my fourth year of competing and have experienced what you describe. Some of it is the huge adrenaline rush one gets from a COF on the clock. At this time, I see it starting to lessen to some degree. The best way overcome this is to dry fire like crazy and live fire to verify your dry fire. The goal is to make the physical part "automatic" so that when the buzzer goes off, so does the brain and the body knows what to do. My guess is time is the best solution.

6 minutes ago, Mcfoto said:

I am finishing my fourth year of competing and have experienced what you describe. Some of it is the huge adrenaline rush one gets from a COF on the clock. At this time, I see it starting to lessen to some degree. The best way overcome this is to dry fire like crazy and live fire to verify your dry fire. The goal is to make the physical part "automatic" so that when the buzzer goes off, so does the brain and the body knows what to do. My guess is time is the best solution.