Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting glasses for "seniors"

njl

I've been wearing Rudy's for a while now (initially Magster, then Rydon).  About 3 years ago, I graduated from single vision to progressive lenses.  At that point, I got some "reader" lenses from Rudy for my Rydons, and have gotten by with just distance correction inserts and the bifocal reader part of the outer lens for up close (like my phone, stage descriptions, or the score pad).  I just got an updated Rx for one of my inserts and found with the additional correction I needed for distance, I can no longer focus close enough to get a sharp front sight on a pistol.  I don't have this problem with my current progressive lenses, but they're not the updated Rx yet.  I also pretty much never shoot in my daily wear progressive lenses.  I wear the Rydons (with the bifocal outer lenses) for better protection and because they're far less likely to fall off.

AFAIK, progressive lens tech keeps getting better (i.e. first there were bifocals, then progressive, now digital progressive, and I was just told that the "custom digital progressives" I got 3 years ago were the best available at the time, but now there's even better).

I wonder how many are doing action pistol type shooting with progressive lenses vs the older solutions like having a set of glasses with front sight focus in the dominant eye, distance in the other, or bifocals with the ADD lens higher in the frame than usual?
Another option I'm considering is just going without correction.  I don't really need correction for up close...the targets will be quite blurry, but maybe not so bad that I can't differentiate threats from non-threats.  I also wonder if a set of "computer" glasses would work?

I guess the final option is give up on iron sights and go carry-optics, but I'd rather not.

Edited by njl