Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is it worth buying a L10 gun?

admcd

I've been shooting USPSA for a couple years now with a break in the middle of the 2017 season to help my wife after our daughter was born. I'm getting better in my divisions bit by bit (my most recent match not withstanding) and am on the verge of crawling out of D into C.  I shoot production and single stack. 

I've been recently enamored with the idea of switching to L10 for Major PF but having a couple extra bullets to help space out my reloads.  Specifically, behind the Iron Curtain in Massachusetts, I was thinking about grabbing an M&P45 as they're inexpensive, easy to find and with a few modifications quality guns.  The magazines are cheap and I already reload for .45ACP.

At the same time, I'm wondering if it's better to just save for another year or two and keep shooting what I already have and take the plunge on a true Limited gun from Atlas or one of the other higher end shops.  There's obviously extra cost there aside from the gun (New dies, bullets, powder, etc) but I'm wondering if that's the better course in the long run.

Edited by admcd

Very few people shoot Limited 10. Most of those who do are in the states with 10 round capacity limit, but if you're attending a match in that state you could shoot Limited without being at a disadvantage, as everyone will have at most 10 rounds per magazine.

You can easily win a local match in L10 because you're the only L10 shooter there, but I'm not sure if this is something you want.

I would continue shooting Production at least until you get to B class. Ammo is cheaper and skills are transferrable if you decide to switch divisions later on.