Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I have been working on the gun a bit

nickforney

My name is Nick and I started shooting USPSA this spring.  I wanted to start up this log to keep track of my mentality and how goals are working out for me.
A few quick things.

Member Number A119279
I am 33 and have liked guns most of my adult life.  I generally shoot at Sioux Falls Practical Shooters but hope to make it down to Ankeny for another event as well as the Sioux City club and Omaha.  

I've shot 4 field courses and a super classifier.  

I have always considered the pistol to be my weak link in terms of shooting.  I carry one most days and I carried them constantly while in the Army.  I tried IDPA for a few events but didn't feel like it was the direction for me.  I went into it pretty blind.  I had some esstac pistol mag pouches and a holster.

https://practiscore.com/results/new/d059d6a6-34bf-417a-86ae-a962366c35b4

First event I shot carry optics and came in at 16 of 44 one guy kind of laughed at me and said this isn't bullseye shooting and I had to get the shots out faster.  I had a great time and was hooked right away.  I got on ben stoegers shop and got the things I saw that seemed to work for people.  I had bought a shadow 2 with dpp from someone on here but it was set up for SAO.  I really liked shooting the gun that way but it wasn't a configuration that made sense for the sport.  I fixed it and lightened the gun as much as I could.  It still needs to get lighter so I can use extended mags perhaps in the winter months this year.

The next event was a week later and was a super classifier.  
https://practiscore.com/results/new/2fa63a0e-7bcd-409d-b67a-6d73a2de5628

I was 16 of 66 and felt like I had thrown out accuracy for speed.  It was a tough deal because I wanted to go fast and as a result had lots of misses and C-D's 

Classifiers were 
18-01   66.3419%  3.2069 HF
18-04  60.0535%  3.6145 HF

18-03  58.1622%  4.3478 HF
18-02  51.0895%  3.2967 HF