Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cerakote Multiple Color/Layers Advice Needed

Hawk21

I have been cerakoting as a hobby for over four years now and have learned some hard lessons along the way.  Took a huge step forward when i sprung for the Iwata spray gun with respect to proper thickness allowing me to confidently coat more than just ARs and Glocks moving into tighter tolerance applications.

However, the one thing I haven't mastered that I need some advice on is stacking multiple colors.  Without dropping 2k on the applicator class and taking a trip to OR i was hoping some members might lend some tips and tricks.

I have followed all the guidelines of baking the intermediate layers at 180 for 15 min but adhesion between the various colors has been hit or miss each time.  Here is my last attempt, yes i should have cut the graphics smaller and used much more of them to make it look like a halfway decent camo pattern.

Any advice would be welcomed.

IMG_0159.JPG

Base coat is rock solid but the edges of the second coat are flaking off once stencils are removed.

I am flashing between first and second color as described in the training manual but getting the flaking 50% of the time probably.

Have you checked your oven temp? Hardener ratio correct? Hardener is still good?

I've only ever seen flaking like that if the base was cured too long; is the rest of the later adhered well, or can you pick it off?

On 6/23/2019 at 8:33 PM, WhiteDingo said:

Have you checked your oven temp? Hardener ratio correct? Hardener is still good?

I've only ever seen flaking like that if the base was cured too long; is the rest of the later adhered well, or can you pick it off?

Oven temp should be spot on I use (3) 40” electric smokers in order to run different materials at different temps.

Hardner was fine and ratio was about 20:1

The flaking is only the top coat peeling up.