Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Different powders for 38super (Major PF)

PewPewJohnson87

Just bought and open gun from a buddy to "dip my toe" in to the open pool and see if its something I want to stick with before I go out and buy a $5k+ gun. Its a 2011 chambered in 38super, he included 10lbs of VV N105 with the gun along with a 5gal bucket of brass. I started loading up a few hundred last night and was wondering if there might be a better powder option out there for 38super, I am still pretty new to the reloading game as I've only been loading 9mm & .40 for the last 18months. So my question is, is there a better powder option for 38super in an open gun?

4 minutes ago, sauza45 said:

I shoot 38 super comp and load with VV N105 and 125 jhp it shoots great, but to be fair that is all have used. It works for me so no need to

chase different loads and powders.

I agree, but hear lately I have been playing with different powders/bullets in different guns to see what works best. There is definitely no loss of accuracy with the VV N105 & PD 124 JHP's, but id like to "tame" the load if possible. I am going to chrono this load this weekend and I am also going to order some new spring's to play around with.

A couple of other shooters use  VV 3n38 they like it a lot. You can get that in 4# or maybe 8# jugs. One guy with the popple holes 

had a hard time making major power factor. He was using something like 11.2 of N105 and just making major. With 3N38 I think he is around 9.2 ish and 

making major. When I load to major I shoot for around 172 to 175 pf. It all depends how the gun is set up.

Before you do anything, do the Brazos gas test.  Hold the gun a couple of inches from a white no-shoot and fire.  If there is more than a light splattering of debris, you are making too much gas for your comp to handle.  This shows you how, plus it is an informative article.  http://www.brazoscustom.com/Home.htm