Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Weak ejection issue after steel grip install???

nelson1each

So I just switched my grip from polymer to the stainless Cheely E2 grip on my CK open gun. I installed the grip myself and it didn’t appear to need any fitting as it went on with ease (it did require a few taps from a small rubber hammer to seat it all the way) I got to shoot it today and I have to say the new grip is awesome! But I did have 2 jams out of 100 with a piece of brass hanging up in the action. I had someone else shoot it so I could look and the brass was just rolling out the right side of the gun rather than being thrown 10 ft like it used too. One buddy recommended a Brazos tuned ejector as he says this fixed his similar problem. So I’ve ordered one and will give that a try. Figured I’d post here and see what all you guys have to say about this as I’m still relatively new to open. Is it possible I screwed something up on the grip install that would effect ejection? Can just a grip change affect ejection? Any thoughts/input is appreciated. Thanks!

Frame seems to slide freely to me...compared it to my other gun that has a polymer grip on it. Running an 8lb spring and shooting 9 major. Also loaded up some dummy rounds and cycled them....they eject great and are getting tossed a few yards to the side in a pretty consistent pattern. Aftec extractor appears to be in good order as I did the test to see if it holds a round while I shake the slide around like I saw on some you tube videos. 

20 hours ago, nelson1each said:

So I just switched my grip from polymer to the stainless Cheely E2 grip on my CK open gun. I installed the grip myself and it didn’t appear to need any fitting as it went on with ease (it did require a few taps from a small rubber hammer to seat it all the way) . Thanks!

i hope not on ejector😀 

How are you holding the gun. Did you change the way you grip it with the metal grip. If it ran with the polymer grip it should run with the metal grip.