Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

TOURNIQUETS

CSEMARTIN

I'm posting this for anyone looking to buy a tourniquet for themselves or for the range.  As some of you know, I am a surgeon with an extensive background in trauma. I am a member of the teaching faculty at Iowa Methodist in Des Moines, Iowa (also known as Unity Point).

One of our Chief Residents, Dr. Mike Valliere, has done extensive research on tourniquets.  Recently, he won a National Championship for his research. ( https://www.journalacs.org/article/S1072-7515(18)30434-4/abstract ).

I have spoken with Mike at length about his recommendations.  Basically, there are two tourniquets that he recommends.  The easiest tourniquet (also the cheapest) for people to use is called the SWAT tourniquet (https://www.buyemp.com/product/swat-tourniquet/3442-EACH?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIvtrasdPD4gIVFLbACh3qsQGkEAQYASABEgIREfD_BwE).  It's only about 12 dollars and is very easy for the lay person to use.  It is also reusable.

The second tourniquet he personally carries and recommends is called the Tactical RMT tourniquet (https://www.chinookmed.com/item/05182/m2-inc.-tactical-ratcheting-medical-tourniquet-rmt/1.html?source=froogle&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIlpH62dPD4gIVBtbACh2jbwYDEAQYASABEgIVMvD_BwE).  It's around 40 bucks.  It is reuseable as well, however, he recommends that if the tourniquet becomes soiled with blood, it should not be reused.

His research focused mainly on the straps and buckles, and he discovered that not all tourniquets generate enough force to stop an arterial bleed.  Some of the buckles are not smooth and therefore generate a lot of friction on the strap preventing enough force from being able to be applied to stop an arterial bleed.

Be careful what you buy.  Not all of the tourniquets on the market will get the job done.

Thanks!

Chris Martin