Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newb needs help with parts for STI 2011

I’m a complete newb to competition pistol shooting. I’m wanting to get into it and be competitive. I have a plastic pistol Carry Optics setup I’m planning to use to start. That’s another topic. I bought a 5” STI Tactical 2011 in 9mm back in 2014 to use on the rare pistol stage we would have to shoot in a PRS match. It worked fine for what I needed. I would like to change some things in it and I’d like to get some advice. 

The sights: It has the all metal solid black front and rear. The rear notch measures .155” wide and the front post measures .130” wide. I’d like to get some sights that have a smaller notch and thinner front post with the front being fiber optic. Is there a pretty common “thinner” setup that most people use as far as a front to back measurement? Most importantly I’d like a pretty fine fiber red/green up front. 

The grip: This grip feels just a little large to me, but it’s ok. It just doesn’t feel “good” in my hand. I did the undercut on the trigger guard myself (yes I used a dremel on my pistol). The feel was much much better afterwards. I like a pretty high undercut for my finger to set in. Any suggestions on a different grip that is popular with a lot of shooters? It needs to be pretty aggressive as far as texture. 

The magwell: this magwell seems very small compared to what I see on other people’s guns. Any suggestions on a slightly larger one? I do reloads just fine with this one. It’s pretty smooth, but when placed under stress on the clock, I’m sure a larger one would help. Of course practice would also help as well. 

The mag release: this thing sucks. It’s too small. I have to alter my grip to drop the mag.