Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Recoil spring for Tanfoglio Stock I/II/III

What recoil spring weight is helpful for smooth recoil impulse?

While I’m new at pistol shooting, it feels like I can’t shoot quickly with stock recoil spring.  It’s very possible my grip is what I need to modify and leave the pistol stock. 

After breaking each shot, sights don’t come back to the target...I have to reacquire, re-align sights, then break the next shot...

For reference, I’m running the following loads:

115gr RN

6.5gr HS-6

various cases

CCI/Fed SPP

Edited by Localizer

I have a 9lb in my Stock II and like it well enough, but I recently got a Limited Custom in .40 and ended up with a 6lb in that.  When I shoot the Stock II now, racing the slide feels heavy, but the sight still returns well enough so I should probably leave it well enough alone.  Who knows, I may try an 8 or lower just to see.

Thanks guys.  

My pistol are Tanfoglio Stock III. I also have a Stock I.

I guess I need a long slide and standard slide lengths.

For Stock III: ?
Stock I: ?

sorry for asking too many questions.
Stock 1 and 2 have 4.5" barrels. They use the standard length springs.

Stock 3 and Lim Pro have 4.75" barrels which require the extended length recoil springs.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk

I went out and practiced yesterday. I also brought with me a 6lb recoil spring to test out the recoil impulse and effect on speed and noticed the following:

1. A lighter recoil spring increases felt recoil! I was surprised by that.
2. As a newbie I could feel the change in recoil impulse...more later.
3. The 6lb recoil spring is too light for a Tanfoglio Stock III...it cussed hangups and FTFs.
4. The lower spring tension makes tracking the slide almost effortless...very nice actually!

I have ordered 8lb recoil springs per advise here.

I’ll update on how it turns out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk