Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Indent ring on HP bullets during seating

I've been loading Berry's 147gr FP bullets for about two years now and do like those bullets. Started loading on my Hornady LnL but switched to XL 650 and LnL is in a box. Still using my match grade Hornady seater and crimper combo die. The Berry's are a plated bullet and pretty soft and I get an indented ring from the seating stem. Not a big deal, I live with it. I'm starting to switch over to Berry's 147gr HP bullets for my USPSA load. With the same setting on the press, just switching to the HP bullets I now get a really strong indent on the bullets. I'm thinking because the bullet has a slightly different shape to the ogive and is hollow the bullet is even softer than the solid bullets.

I'm now considering converting from the seat and crimp combo to a seat only and crimp only dies. I'm also using the Hornady bullet feeder and the Dillion powder check which means one of those have to go if I use two separate dies.

Will using the seat only, crimp separate dies eliminate the indent ring on the soft bullets? I'm leaning towards the Redding competition seater die and Redding taper crimp die, any opinions for or against the Redding?

Helps to seat and crimp at separate stations. Doing it at the same time can crimp before the seating is done. Some harder brass will be tougher to seat and can cause those rings. If you have a wad cutter style seating stem you can use that for hollow points. It has a flat front instead of concave.

Flare your case mouth a bit more. For plated bullets, we suggest flaring cases to .020" larger than a sized, unflared case mouth measures. Separating seating and crimping is always a good idea.