Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hello Folks,

To start, I do reload and have for a couple years so I'm not a total newb, but not an expert by any means. This is a bit of a mixed discussion through a couple different questions.

First: Trying to decide between staying in Limited and upgrading my gun or moving to Open. Currently shoot Limited with a Glock 34 Gen 3 but looking for a 2011 as an upgrade. I recently shot myself in the foot (not literally) and was able to shoot an Open gun in 9 major. Boy oh boy that was a mistake!! I had far too much fun doing so, but don't have the slightest clue on open guns in the way of reloading. My dilemma is whether or not to stick with Limited or jump to Open and expand my horizons. Reasons on why or why not to switch?

Second: If I jump to Open, I've seen that coated bullets aren't super great because the comp vaporizes the coating and builds up in the ports. A friend recommended Montana Gold bullets specifically. I'm only familiar with the name, as it is renowned in the sport, but I don't have much knowledge on them. What makes them so great over any other brand?

Please feel free to school me, as I'm always looking for more information on loading and gun knowledge! Thank you for your input and time!

-Muddawg

Your division your call. The sport def has been going the way of 9mm major for Open. Statistically based on winners vs losers I see at majors, a 2011 gives you a better shot at the podium. A 34 in Limited....pass, I would get a 35. Major PF dominates Lim and Open. Stepped brass in 9mm major open will cause a problem. 

Bullet Question, Yes coated BBs will clog up ports and the ports will rip the coating off bullets. Also I think most coatings top out 1400ish FPS. If you shoot a 124 at the absolute minimum PF, you need it to go 1330 FPS. Or shoot a comped gun with no ports (not sure, I dont shoot open)? 

Montana Gold, Xtreme, Zero, Frontier, Precision Delta, Hornady HAP, etc any plated or jacketed bullet will be fine.