Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone run a 35 in Lim Maj or Open?

nick779

Im just curious if anyone here runs a Glock platform in Open or Limited major. I love CO so far but Major scoring is tempting.

I have no intentions on doing anything for a while, but the thought of running something like a Carver Custom Glock in Open intrigues me.

Heck even going cheap and doing a basic 35 setup with a ported barrel and a slide ride optic might be fun.

I started shooting a Glock 35 in Limited at the beginning of the year.  At first I wasn't honestly so sure how I was going to like it, but now that I've started shooting it a few matches I really have started liking it.  I shot PCC all of last year and my pistol skills went down the crapper.  Yesterday shot a local match and its feeling much more comfortable every time I take it out.

Glock 35 Gen4 :

TTI Sights

Glock Store Big Mouth Magwell - 4oz

NDZ Stainless Guide Rod with 15lb 

Ghost Connector

TTI Basepads (20+1 start, 19 re-loadable)

Also have a KKM 9mm conversion barrel that is working great so far, will put probably 150 through it tomorrow at Steel Challenge practice.

I tried using some of the springs in the Ghost kit and I didn't have any luck with the gun functioning correctly, I think I need a lightened striker if I want to use all the springs.

20 hours ago, RJH said:

Limited sure.  Open, not so much

Its not so much that Id prefer it over Limited, Im just taking a liking to running a dot.

14 hours ago, Novagunner said:

I started with a 35 in Ltd and ran it for a while and then picked up a 2011. I miss the glock so I now play around in production with some 40 minor.  Haven’t messed with an open glock though.

Just curious, do you specifically load to minor? Most factory 180gr ive seen is at ~175pf

I shoot regularly with a guy who uses an open Glock. He has a couple and sometimes runs 9mm and other times 40, both using 17/22 length slides with comps.  They both run reliably, but...