Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I went ahead and got DQ'd today

I am very new to uspsa.  I shot my first field match last month and a super classifier last weekend.  I was open this weekend and was hungry to get a match in so I got up before 5 to drive 3 and half hours away for a nice level 1.  In the truck I clearly had a bit of dummy juice because it showed nice and clear the second stage of the day.  I have many many things to work on as a shooter but I had never even considered this would be an issue.

The first stage went fine there was a big sweeping 170 degree transition early on and I was really worried about over extending or not paying attention to the 180.  I felt ok on the stage and there were other good shooters to watch and try to learn from.  I am still really new to the concept of gaming stages and watching people who are good at it still fascinates me.  

The second stage was a very close open, partial hard and head only hard cover target with 3, 2, 1 round engagement.  I thought there isn't much game here just shoot away.  I was the first shooter for the stage and stepped up confident.  I either didn't seat the mag completely or the mag release got pressed between make ready and t1.  I got off my first round and heard the dreaded hammer fall on either a bad primer or empty chamber.  I was kicking myself through the stage and on showing clear and hammer down I wanted to see the magazine right away.  Like a fool I bent over and scooped up the mag while the empty gun was still in hand.  Everyone was really nice and sympathetic but my day of shooting was over with about a minute of trigger time and 7 hours of driving.

I think back to the hundreds of iterations on the range that I would scoop up a round or magazine.  The countless trips to the clearing barrel in Iraq and Afghanistan  worried about getting the round scooped up.  Best believe Nick isn't going to be trying to catch a round or scoop a magazine with a dead gun in hand.