Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

M&P 2.0 in production division?

allamericanbp

Looking for some input from the masses. I started shooting Limited Major with a PRO with an Apex and magwell added before switching over to a 2011 setup. I am wanting to get into production and was kicking around the idea of running my 2.0. Does that seem like a logical idea or would I be better off going with a metal gun CZ/Tanfo, etc. I know the metal gun makes a difference when it comes to getting back on target faster, etc. Any input is appreciated.

It just depends on what you want to do in my opinion.  If you want to win at all costs you should probably go with the metal gun.  It seems pretty obvious at this point that CZs and tanfos are better for USPSA production, but depending on how good you are it probably won't make that much of a difference vs shooting a long slide glock or M&P.  Just look at David Sevigny and Robert Vogel, two of the best shooters in the country.  They've won a lot of stuff using glocks, and the m&p is more or less the same thing (I know people will step in and blast me for saying that).

It'll probably take a little more work to be as good with an M&P as you would've been with CZ or tanfo, even with learning the first shot DA pull on the DA/SA guns.  If you just enjoy m&p's for some reason, I'd say shoot those.  If you've shot 2011's you probably know what you prefer.  I have very little experience with the DA/SA guns, but they seem basically like lighter, less tricked out 2011's after the first shot.

Me, I've accepted that B class will probably be my ceiling, I have a bunch of M&P's and the tools/gear for them, so I'll stick with them.  Shooting in USPSA with them is kind of like taking a ford taurus to the drag strip, but sometimes that can still be fun.  As the old cliche goes, it's the indian not the arrow though. I think you could be very competitive with either in local matches with enough dedication.