Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Adjusting Lee Sizing Die

TitoR

Do I need to scrap my processed brass?

I’ve been Reloading 9mm for 5 years, and yesterday started Reloading 223 in my XL650 for hoser ammo. Range brass, wet tumbled.

I adjusted the Lee resizing/decapping die according to Lee instructions (1/2 turn after touching shell plate) an processed about 500 223 cases.

When I checked with the LE Wilson case gauge, all case heads are below the lower step.

So, a few questions:

- scrap processed brass for excessive headspace?

- what is the correct process of adjusting decapping die in the XL650?

Thanks for your guidance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I would load and shoot them, then scrap them because they will stretch quite a bit, because the next firing could result in case head separation.

The correct process of adjusting the SIZING die would be to screw it in or out until the headspace is correct with the case gauge. 

Adjusting a decap die is pretty easy, is it pushing the primers out? GTG!

When setting up ANY die, it will behoove you to check the results before cranking out 500 rounds...

Edited by RiggerJJ

I usually follow the die Manufacturer’s instructions, so I was not expecting the cases to be short. I read Dillon’s instructions that mention the use of the case gage, which got me concerned.
I may not even use range brass going forward, but I had a bunch collected and wanted to process to see if it is something I want to get into. But depending on my shooting volume, may just buy fully processed and setup a loading only toolhead: decapping, powder/prime, Bullet seater and crimp die.

Newbie mistake and lesson learned.
Thanks for the feedback.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Buy a Hornady cartridge case headspace gauge and measure a few cases fired in "your" rifle. Then set the die up to bump the shoulder back .003 to .006 for a AR15 type rifle.