Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!
MJinPA

Handling squib situation as RO

A couple of weeks ago I had 2 shooters with squib/suspected squib. Shooter 1, I did not stop. Was watching the gun and did not see/hear anything different. He stopped himself. Turned out he had one stuck....Shooter 2, I stopped. Seemed pretty clear as the slide barely moved and pop was a puff. With both shooters, after verifying they were clear per normal ulsc procedure I sent them to the safe table. #1 did have one in the barrel but surprisingly (to us both) #2 did not. After looking at 5.7.7 I’m wondering if I should have field stripped both firearms to confirm or not? I’ve been an RO for a couple of years but this is my first time running into squib issues (2 in one squad!) 3d5e8e17a7d8d878e3583c50a59e5118.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just carry a zip tie in your back pocket and stick it the barrel through the chamber. No need to field strip the gun .

Just carry a zip tie in your back pocket and stick it the barrel through the chamber. No need to field strip the gun .

Gotta love the simplest solutions! That makes it easy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If there is a squib how are you going to zip tie the slide back?

I can see using it as a make shift chamber flag. However I am failing to see how you could use to to lock the slide like at the gun show. In the scenario above, the squib round would be stuck in the barrel.

8 minutes ago, Laxman2809 said:

I can see using it as a make shift chamber flag. However I am failing to see how you could use to to lock the slide like at the gun show. In the scenario above, the squib round would be stuck in the barrel.

Using the zip tie to just see if there is a squib.  If a squib exists the gun goes off the range to get repaired.  No squib then reshoot.

2 hours ago, Laxman2809 said:

OMG! You really missed the meaning!😂