Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

550 case feeder

I have been using the same 550’s for years with no trouble . I have one in small primer and one large primers . As long as I blow them off once in a while they run great . I started shooting limited this year and was looking at adding a case feeder to my small primer 550 for my 40 because my need has increased . I don’t want to spend the money and buy  a 650 and a case feeder for 1000 when I can spend 400 and keep loading . So anybody with a case feeder on a 550 let me n ow how you like it. 

Edited by Bmans45

I have 2 550B. I bought the 550 case feeder when it came out. I installed it on the machine I used to load .38 Super. It worked quite well. The only problem was once in a while a piece of tumbling media would get caught in the drop tube adapter and a case would get wedged in. No way to clear except take the whole drop tube off and push the case out. I found I was shooting more 9mm and now the case feeder is on the 550 that is dedicated to 9mm. The other machine is for Super and .223. The situation with the media jam still exists, although I recently changed to wet tumbling so I wont have that problem going forward. There is one new problem using 9mm. Every 100 to 200 rounds a case will go into the drop tube upside down. This never happened with .38 Super. This makes the case fail to feed into the size/deprine station and the case is usually flat on the slide and can be removed without problem. Thanks to the manual advance on the 550 it does not create too much issue. On the whole I would buy it again.