Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Accepting Charlie

Hey all.

Not sure this is the correct sub forum to post his in but here goes. I've been working hard in DF and LF to improve my shooting. Have been using the concept of Accuracy vs. Speed vs. Match mode. I'm pretty new to the sport so I'm struggling to know if my Speed mode is actually Speed mode and not Match mode pace.

There is a speed I can run where I get almost all Alphas. This is obviously too slow. This is Accuracy mode. But then there is what I think is Speed mode where I'm pushing my transitions and stuff so I'm throwing Charlies and the occasional Delta BUT...

Is this really Speed mode?

I'm trying to get over this idea that I'm gonna shoot all alphas. I admit that I get disappointed when I see charlies. I know Charlies are ok. But at what point are you getting too many charlies on a stage?

I get that its gonna depend on the stage... partials, distance, swingers, etc. But in general.

Or maybe I'm focusing on the wrong thing here. If I am, please set me straight.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

What is your overall goal for shooting in competitions? From my limited experience (I'm in it for the fun ), I've seen guys blow through stages at super fast paces with charlies, deltas, & mikes and still come out in the top 5 or higher for that stage just because they completed the stage so much faster than everyone else.

Now at larger events where there are many more high level shooters this doesn't work out so well for them. They have to slow down a little and make good hits.

7 hours ago, anonymouscuban said:

Hey all.

Not sure this is the correct sub forum to post his in but here goes. I've been working hard in DF and LF to improve my shooting. Have been using the concept of Accuracy vs. Speed vs. Match mode. I'm pretty new to the sport so I'm struggling to know if my Speed mode is actually Speed mode and not Match mode pace.