Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

RIA pro match ultra 40 vs STI Edge for limited

BamaShooter88

I’m new to the competition world. I’ve been shooting limited minor. I want to save up and get a good limited major gun. I don’t have a lot of money to invest. So my options are a used sti edge, ria pro match, cz’s and tanfos. I’m leaning towards the 2011 platform but very open to suggestions. I would like my budget to be $1500 but can add a couple hundred if needed. Here is my dilemma though. This is just a hobby for me. I don’t think I’ll ever have the time to invest to become a sponsored shooter. I shoot 1-2 matches a month and dry fire\ live fire 2-3 days a week. I know the custom 2011’s are the cream of the crop but is the price difference really worth it? What would I benefit from buying a used sti over a ria pro match. I don’t mind spending the extra money if it’s really worth it but to me it seems like the ria would do just as good in USPSA. Correct me if I’m wrong. 

I’m new to the competition world. I’ve been shooting limited minor. I want to save up and get a good limited major gun. I don’t have a lot of money to invest. So my options are a used sti edge, ria pro match, cz’s and tanfos. I’m leaning towards the 2011 platform but very open to suggestions. I would like my budget to be $1500 but can add a couple hundred if needed. Here is my dilemma though. This is just a hobby for me. I don’t think I’ll ever have the time to invest to become a sponsored shooter. I shoot 1-2 matches a month and dry fire\ live fire 2-3 days a week. I know the custom 2011’s are the cream of the crop but is the price difference really worth it? What would I benefit from buying a used sti over a ria pro match. I don’t mind spending the extra money if it’s really worth it but to me it seems like the ria would do just as good in USPSA. Correct me if I’m wrong. 
Hindsight is 20/20: