Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

G5 34 striker spring weights and primer reliability

nick779

Is there some sort of established guideline as to what power spring I need to light off certain primers with a stock striker in this gun? I have a TTI GM kit on the way and am really just looking for a minor pull weight reduction without sacrificing reliability with CCI and maybe some Winchesters. After doing some reading I feel like im a bit spoiled since my P10C will light off anything with a 3# spring.

I have limited Glock knowledge, so if the striker assembly is the same across the 34, 17 and 19 or whatever, please feel free to let me know.

Im assuming I cant go lower than 4.5# from what im hearing but id like some feedback.

Edited by nick779

For CCI stick with 4.5 pounds. I’ve had multiple glocks with very clean 3.5lb triggers with that spring weight. They ate everything with a stock striker.

A good minus connector, lightened safety plunger spring, 4.5# striker spring, and agressive polishing are all I do to Glocks anymore.

Still boringly reliable, and easy to shoot with a pull well under 4 pounds.

I used to do $200 trigger kits from Vanek or the GlockWizardSuperWorks shop of the week, but it’s just not any improvement on the above (with a little practice) on match day.

Edited by MemphisMechanic

Glocks can be different between the same model guns. So you really have to try different rates to be sure. You should have no trouble with a 5. I have run a 4.5 for years with no trouble with a stock striker, so that should work also. These are with all the major primer manufacturers., CCI, Federal, Winchester and S&B. I have a gen3 in 17&34. I even ran a 4 with a stock striker with federal primers for a while with no problems.