Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Strategies for increasing double tap accuracy and speed?

matteekay

Hey spinnygunners,

I've been shooting wheelies for a couple years now and decided to try and improve in earnest (finally). Obviously a lot of what we shoot is double-taps on paper and that's also one of the things that's harder with a revo than a bottom feeder, so I was wondering if anyone had specific drills or strategies they use to increase speed and accuracy?

Shooting as fast as I can, I can get both shots into a 6" target at 13 yards, but they tend to both be low and not exactly impressive groups. I suppose I can just keep doing it until I improve on trigger pull and I learn where the sights should be when I break the second shot but I figured smarter people than me might have better approaches...

Any help appreciated!

Thank you everyone! I'll start working some of these into my range time. 

12 hours ago, PatJones said:

No double taps. 2 aimed shots.

Interesting. So you get a full sight picture before you break each shot?

Thank you everyone! I'll start working some of these into my range time. 

Yes, a sight picture for every shot. It's not always equal height-equal light, but it's a sight picture.

At 3 yards I may only need to see the entire gun inside the a zone. Out to 5 yards, I put the front sight in the A. Out to 7, having the fiber in the rear notch and on the target may be enough.

At some point you do need a more traditional sight picture. All of the distances I quoted are for a revolver, the distances are a little further out with a bottom feeder. You need to play with this stuff in practice and figure out what you can get away with. I have a lot of friends that over-aim, and I'm sure I still do on some targets.

9 hours ago, matteekay said:

Yes, it's two full sight pictures, but given proper technique the gun should return to the same exact spot after breaking the first shot.