Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Can you feel the difference between powders when shooting?

LifeisgoodSteve

Hi All,

Going to start having fun with a SW 329pd and have both the V320 and V340 powders.  The V340 can go hotter, but I'll not need that for my training and competition loads.  As I'm relatively new to reloading, it made me wonder if you can feel a difference in the different powders when shooting?

I'm not really talking about smoke or how clean/dirty, but specifically the recoil or feeling of the shot.

My guess is that the difference between the V320 and V340 would be minimal, but curious if you guys have any experience with the difference in these and in general between the various powders out there in this regard?

Thanks,

Steve

It's relative.  Same bullet loaded to the same velocity will feel different.  Which one you like depends on you.  The 340 load will have more actual recoil, but may feel softer because is is more of a push.  Generally speaking, faster powders hit your hand harder than slower powders.

Under a 200gr LSWC, load 5.1gr N320.  Then load some with 6.1gr N340 and see what differences you feel.

Edited by zzt

Thanks. Yeah, I was definitely feeling the urge to do a side by side comparison. When working in my .357 loads I actually had very similar FPS loads for my with the same 158gr bullet using the 320 and 340. In that case I wanted a higher FPS to get into major with .38special brass which I why I went with the v340 

I must say that the loads with V340 were very pleasant to shoot, even at 170pf. That had some kick for sure but in a fun way that makes you smile a bit when you shoot it. 

In the range of powders out there, any that are known to generate lower perceived recoil, in same FPS, in any meaningful way?

Edited by LifeisgoodSteve

Welcome to the fun world of reloading!