Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2011 Recoil Analysis (Steel vs Plastic Grip)

Frieday

edited-image.png

Late last year, I put a PT EVO grip on my Millennium Custom 2011.

I had been primarily shooting SNS 200gr's with WST.  This year I started shooting SNS 180gr's with n320.  

I started noticing the faster I was shooting, the higher my follow up shots were on targets.  And If I was engaging a few targets that were relatively close, the last targets I engaged had high hits on target.

This happened enough that I started to suspect I needed to make a change to my setup.  So I did trials with different recoil springs with the steel grip, and then again with the plastic grip.

All shots are with the same load and with the same 2011.  I did trials with 16, 15, 14, 12.5, 11 and 10lb springs with the steel grip, and then again with the plastic grip.  I did some slow fire and then rapid fire.

This video is a summary of my results.

Video Link

The results are surprising and I thought others would be interested to see them.

11 hours ago, Frieday said:

The results are surprising and I thought others would be interested to see them.

Thanks for posting - looks like a lot of work - nice of you to share it with us .  

I watched all five minutes, and not sure what "the results" were.

What conclusions have YOU reached after doing all this experimentation ?

Steel or plastic ?

10 lb or 16 lb ?

What I saw in the videos, is that the steel grip and plastic grip, have different profiles. If the grips used are the ones in the pic of your first post, you can see the plastic grip is slimmer. Therefore, your hand fits one better than the other, causing you to shoot one better than the other. Even if the grips in the pic aren't what you used,in the video It looks like your hand sits slightly higher on the gun with the plastic grip, putting it closer to the bore axis. Meaning better recoil control.