Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production C - First Match of 2019

DKorn

Here’s video from my first “real” match of 2019, not counting a handful of indoor practice matches:

Any feedback on what I’m doing well and what I should work on would be greatly appreciated. This was one of my best matches yet, but I definitely still have lots of room to improve. 

Looks good for your first outdoor match.  I am no expert and can’t say I am getting this from watching your video, but this is what I wish I knew when I started.  Make CALLING YOUR SHOTS your number 1 priority!!!   I heard it was important in the beginning, but really didn’t grasp how important.  As far as this match goes, work on getting your grip tension consistent. If you watch your video closely, sometimes the gun was really flopping around and other times you had good recoil control.  It’s hard to be consistently fast if you recall arc is changing.

1 hour ago, B585 said:

Looks good for your first outdoor match.  I am no expert and can’t say I am getting this from watching your video, but this is what I wish I knew when I started.  Make CALLING YOUR SHOTS your number 1 priority!!!   I heard it was important in the beginning, but really didn’t grasp how important.  As far as this match goes, work on getting your grip tension consistent. If you watch your video closely, sometimes the gun was really flopping around and other times you had good recoil control.  It’s hard to be consistently fast if you recall arc is changing.

Not my first outdoor match, just my first one of the year. 

I was trying my best to shoot my plan and call my shots and felt pretty successful. Recoil control and grip consistency is probably number one on my list of improvements to make. 

(1) Your recoil control needs huge work. Your weak hand sits still while the gun recoils into the strong hand only. GRIP HARD AS HELL with your left hand.