Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

(NERD) Physics of Slide Lightening Cuts

Red_Dot

I've been doing some thinking around the concept of reciprocating mass and center of gravity of that reciprocating mass. I am an engineer with machining experience so this sorta stuff is fascinating to me, but I don't have enough real world experience tinkering and testing with firearms to know if any of it really matters.

My question is really 2-fold.

1) Knowing that [Force = Mass * Velocity^2], by reducing the mass of the slide by ~10% and making adjustments to the recoil spring to keep ejection distance appropriate, is there a tangible difference in recoil of a pistol with just slide lightening?

2) If said slight lightening also lowers the vertical center of gravity by ~10%, that should also reduce the force felt at the grip.

Ultimately, what I am confirming is, taking as much weight out of the front and top of the slide as possible is theoretically the most effective at reducing felt recoil, but does the theory line up with real-life experience to those who have done it?

Just for kicks, the 3D model for the slide I am playing around with is attached.

BullShadow Assembly Tapered Scallops Iso.PNG

BullShadow Assembly Tapered Scallops side.PNG

I started a thread about this topic several years ago when I was going through my slide lightening R&D phase. My BE Forum search Kung-Fu is weak today and I can't seem to find it. I believe all of your questions are answered in there.

Edited by CHA-LEE

48 minutes ago, CHA-LEE said:

I started a thread about this topic several years ago when I was going through my slide lightening R&D phase. My BE Forum search Kung-Fu is weak today and I can't seem to find it. I believe all of your questions are answered in there.

36 minutes ago, HoMiE said:

Thank you both!! Excellent info!

I lightened the slide on my Limited gun and it made very little difference.